Fix slow Intellij IDEA debugger

Abhishek Dhoundiyal
2 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

Today, I encounter a problem where I needed to use debug option on Intellij but the debugger was so damn slow, that it made me cry instead.

It was an urgent task and I need to debug the issue asap. After wasting my whole day, I came to a solution :) and wanted to share the same with you.

Turn off two debugger options:

  • Turn off the Alternate view for Collections classes by un-selecting the “Enable alternative view for Collections classes” check box.
  • Turn off the “ToString” mode by clearing the “Enable ‘toString’ object view” check box on the settings page.

In simple words, please disable the following setting:

  1. Disable ‘alternate views for collection classes’.
  2. Disable the ‘ toString()’ object view.

For more details, you can read the below link:

Ref: https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/articles/206544799-Java-slow-performance-or-hangups-when-starting-debugger-and-stepping

--

--